A Reader's Guide to Unfamiliar Literature
Browse Authors by Last Name A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
username password

Forgot username or password? Not a member yet? Registration is free.

A Good Place To Start

Across the Nightingale Floor 1


add genre

Categorization is odious. There is tremendous overlap among genres. These pigeonholes are offered only as a convenience.

Gillian Rubenstein (1942 - )

added by miss_tibbles


post a new comment

Please consider recommending where to begin reading this author, or where not to. A few words about your experiences reading this author and why you make the recommendations you do will be helpful to other users. If you are the author or have studied this author extensively, please say so.

miss_tibbles December 25th, 2007 12:07 PM PST

Gillian Rubenstein is an Australian author best known for the "Tales of the Otori" series, written under the pseudonym Lian Hearn.
The series consists of a trilogy (consisting of "Across the Nightingale Floor", "Grass for His Pillow" and "Brilliance of the Moon") which follows the hero, Takeo, from when he is 16 until when he is 19. The fourth book, "The Harsh Cry of the Heron", takes place 16 years later. The final book, "Heaven's Net is Wide", is actually a prequel and covers the events before the trilogy opens, focusing on Shigeru, who is the rightful ruler of the Otori in "Across the Nightingale Floor".


No biography of this author has yet been posted. Please consider entering a brief biography here. You can Google this author by clicking here.

add biography